Book Review: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

WARNING: This review contains spoilers. Read at your own risk.

Author’s Note: All art belongs to @Merwild on Twitter.

kaz_brekker_by_merwild-daq56zi

Kaz Brekker

Six of Crows is Bardugo’s new story set in the Grisha world. It centers on six criminals, an impossible heist, a load of money, and their freedom. Kaz Brekker A.K.A Dirtyhands, a very famous criminal, is offered a mountain of money to do three things: Break in to the Ice Court (which has never been broken into before), kidnap a hostage (that could possibly ruin the world), and come back alive. To accomplish this heist, he puts together a crew that he knows can help him succeed this mission.

Inej Ghafa

Inej Ghafa

So of course, the story involves six main characters: Kaz Brekker, the leader of the group that gets away with anything; Jesper Fahey, the sharpshooter that loves to gamble; Wylan Van Eck, son of a famous business man who ran away; Inej Ghafa, a wraith; Nina Zenik, a Grisha who’s trying to survive; and Matthias Helvar, a Drüskelle thirsting for revenge.

Before I read this duology, I have heard a lot of booktubers say good things about Six of Crows and so I read the Grisha Trilogy first and then Six of Crows. I honestly just loved Six of Crows. I loved everything about it from the plot, to the world-building, the adventure, down to the characters.

In The Grisha Trilogy, we were able to have an adventure but in Six of Crows, we got Ketterdam and a lot more. I’m really glad that we were able to have adventure in the

Jesper Fahey

Jesper Fahe

Grishaverse because just the world itself is an amazing work of art. 

Each character had a specific role and a unique development throughout the duology. One thing I love about the main characters is that they are all diverse, not just in terms of color but also in terms of sexuality like my babies Jesper and Wylan. Out of Bardugo’s well written characters, Inej is my favorite because I discovered that she is not fearless. She had a troubled past and that’s what made her the Wraith. She is so vulnerable and a strong and independent woman. She went through an incredible character development and I just love her. She doesn’t give in to Kaz Brekker, no, she will have him without armor and I just love Inej. I can’t stress this enough.

Wylan Van Eck

Wylan Van Eck

Story-wise, it was just amazing. I love how the more we read, the more we got to know about the character, including their backstory. Leigh Bardugo writes so beautifully that I was just hooked. The story was well though-out and I honestly just can’t put the book down. When I finished Six of Crows, I immediately picked Crooked Kingdom.

I can’t even begin to tell how I loved Crooked Kingdom. I thought Six of Crows was already amazing, but Crooked Kingdom was just out of this world to the point that I literally flew through this in a day. It was just soooo much better than SoC. I honestly had high expectations and they have exceeded it by miles.

 

The conclusion was just mind blowing.

Nina Zenik

Nina Zenik

Crooked Kingdom gave me so much feels and when Matthias died, my heart broke in half and I was crying an ocean of tears. I’m a sucker for tragedy but did you really have to kill Matthias?! I honestly couldn’t stop crying. I had to close my book and hug a pillow because Matthias is one of those characters that just cling on you. It left me broken.

On a lighter note, the other thing I loved about Crooked Kingdom was Jesper and Wylan. They were such a cute bunch. They were so flirty, and cute and I can’t get enough of them. Kaz and Inej, though. Ya’ll, KAZ AND INEJ. They are such a good pair and I love how Inej is such a strong and independent woman and Kaz is just like, nah girl you’re mine. They’re one of my favorite OTP’s so far. I love them, okay? I just do.

Matthias

Matthias Helvar

Honestly, this duology is so much better than the Grisha Trilogy for me. The romance here wasn’t overpowering and I like how we dived in deeper into each of their lives. This was sucha great reading experience for me and I loved every minute of it. I’d give this duology five stars! I recommend this to everyone who loved The Grisha Trilogy and for those who love high fantasy stories like me. I applaud you, Leigh Bardugo.

 

“No mourners, no funerals.”

Leave a Reply

