Book Review: The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa

WARNING:julie_kagawa-theironking This review contains spoilers. Read at your own risk.

At first, I thought that it would be boring. A few chapters in The Iron King and I was hooked.

Meghan was invisible. No one remembers her, even her stepfather; only her mom, brother, and her best friend Puck knows her.

When Ethan – Meghan’s little brother – gets kidnapped and brought into the magical world of Faeries, Meghan is determined to bring him back.

When Meghan then enters the Fae world, she soon discovers that Puck isn’t who he thinks he is, Ash is more than the enemy’s son, and she’s not normal.

I really enjoyed the series because Meghan is a well-written characters and she’s a strong and kick-ass female. In the Iron King, she was new to the world, very naive and dependent. She was a little girl. Over the series, she grew stronger. Meghan went through great character development and she turned out to be an independent character.

My favorite character would probably be Puck because he’s such a loving and caring person. He’s goofy, fun, and he knows when to be serious. He hides so much pain throughout the series that I just want to hug him and tell him that everything’s okay. I honestly think that he deserves better and ugh I love Puck.

I’m not that much of a fan of the writing style because there are parts where I kinda just want to cringe but there are some parts that really made me. On the other hand, I like how the pace of the story isnt too fast nor too slow. The whole story was very unique and different. I admit, I didn’t want to read it at first because I wasn’t sold on a fae story but my friend encouraged me to read it and I must say, I loved it.

To be frank, I think the series was better when Meghan died and didn’t become the Iron Queen  but then I loved The Iron Knight because of Ash’s sacrifices for Meghan and it made me cry. Julie Kagawa really knew how to make a great happy ending.

I’d give this series four out of five stars due to the fact that I didn’t really like  ending of the third book due to the fact that I’m a sucker for tragedies. It’s not that I didn’t like Meghan, but rather, I think that the Iron Fae dying with Meghan is a really good conclusion but hey whatever floats Kagawa’s book.

I would recommend this book to fans of A Midsummer Night’s Dream since the characters were based from Shakespeare’s famous story. I think that people who are into fantasy books, fae and love triangles would enjoy this book, too!

Leave a Reply

