Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

WARNING: This review contains spoilers. Read at your own risk.

Most of ACOTAR was cute and fluffy. I liked Tamlin from the start because he was this boy next door type of guy and then we met Rhysand and I was like, mhmm I know this guy’s gonna have a big role mhmm and I was right lmao. The steamy parts were okay, I guess? I don’t know, I just don’t feel the chemistry between Tamlin and Feyre and just meh.

In the book, what really made me excited was Feyre’s hardships Under the Mountain. That was when I started liking Rhysand. I don’t know, I guess I was kinda drawn to him when he bet for Feyre on the first round of the trials. I love how Rhysand was kind of possessive when it comes to Feyre and how much he cared about her towards the end of the book. My heart literally just cried when Rhysand wanted to kill Amarantha for killing Feyre. Right then and there, it was goodbye Tamlin and hello Rhysand. The end of A Court of Thorns and Roses felt so much like a fairy tail but I knew that there’s more in store for us.

A Court of Mist and Fury has to be my favorite book of all time. I swear! It was so much better than ACOTAR, to be quite frank. The first book was good but ACOMAF was AMAZING. Five out of five stars! I absolutely loved this book because there was adventure, action, romance, SASSY BANTERS, SEXY MALE CHARACTERS and plot twists. The moment I read the first sentence, I rooted for Rhysand. I felt like he could do so much better than Tamlin. I felt really bad for Feyre when Tamlin didn’t do anything but cage her in the house. I was like, you’re just somebody that I used to know. I swear, when Rhysand came to Feyre’s rescue in the middle of the wedding, I yelped in triumph.

Tamlin was just so insensitive and overprotective at this book. Lucien was as useless as him. Don’t get me wrong, Lucien is one of my favorite characters in the story but I got so mad at him for still listening to Tamlin. I know that I would see these two in the middle of the story but I definitely didn’t expect Tamlin to get to obsessed with Feyre that he would turn to the King of Hybern to retrieve Feyre. I was so mad at him and I felt betrayed.

Alright, I wanna tell you guys my favorite characters aside from Feyre bc honestly, who doesn’t wanna be her? First, it would be Rhysand. Rhysand, High Lord of the Night Court, is dark, mysterious, arrogant, narcissistic, brooding, a shameless flirt, savage, dangerous, and extremely sassy. On the inside, he’s a cinnamon bun. He cares so much about Feyre, his circle of friends, and Velaris, the City of Starlight. I don’t know about you but Rhysand loving Feyre just made my heart flutter. When Rhysand finally stripped his soul naked and revealed his story to Feyre, I melted. and omg when he was teaching Feyre how to read and all she’s reading is how handsome Rhysand is ohgod best character ever.

Another one of my favorites would be Cassian. You know how that in every squad, there’s that one funny friend where he doesn’t even try to be funny? That’s Cassian. And he’s this little ball of sunshine when he promises to protect Nesta and I just sHIP IT SO HARD. He’s so funny and sassy and he knows when to be serious he’s boyfriend material i love him.

Right now, I really just can’t wait for the next book, A Court of Wings and Ruin (which will be coming out on the 2nd of May!). I’m just hella excited to get my hands on a copy and I am quite sure that I will cry again because the love was so real I can’t even handle it.

“To the stars to who listen – and the dreams that are answered.” – Rhysand, High Lord of Night Court

Leave a Reply

