Book Review: Love and Misadventure by Lang Leav

We all have different meanings of love. Not all of us has experienced what love – the kind of love with another person – feels like. Lang Leav has left a series of poems and short stories of what love is for her and what love can do to you. When I read this, it was heart breaking, touching, and tearful. I couldn’t wait until I have her Lullabies next.

Excuse me while I talk about love. Lately, I’ve been smitten. There was this guy who kind of saved me. We were friends for a long time and we became closer when he found me alone. I asked him, “what made you ask that I was okay?” He said that I looked so sad. It was true. It was when my best friend and I fought and we were ignoring each other. I felt so lonely. When he asked me if I was okay, I nodded. He didn’t believe me. He knew about my past so he came forward and saw what I did. I started crying and I told him what happened. Ever since that day, we became so close until… well, flowers bloomed and butterflies started to flutter in my belly. He made me smile so much, laugh so hard, and he made me feel loved. He made me feel like never before. I thought, what is this feeling? Why am I so new to it? And then I knew. I am in love. Yes. I am in love with my savior. He returned my feelings and here I am, writing this down because I fell in love with him.

What I’m trying to say is that I think I know what Leav is feeling. When I read her poems, I didn’t understand it very much because I didn’t know what love felt like. When I did fall for him, I read it again and then I understood what love is. Lang Leav is an amazing author and poet that captured the essence of love. She wrapped the emotion around her finger and flooded the paper with her true words. Love and misadventure. Why misadventure? When one is in love, there will be arguments, and that’s okay because you’re being open to each other. Misfortune will happen but it will soon be replaced with something better. I think the reason why Leav chose this specific word is because love isn’t perfect. Love isn’t the way we want it to happen. Love… love has different meaning in each and every one of us. Lang Leav’s Love and Misadventure taught me many things and I am prepared to meet them, whether it will be a misadventure or a coincidence. I would give this ten stars over five stars because her writing technique feels so intricate and it feels so… solid. I really love the book and I don’t mind reading it over and over again for the rest of my life, but I would love to read her Lullabies.

Always
 
You were you,
and I was I;
we were two
before our time.
 
I was yours,
before I knew,
and you have always
been mine too.
 
Leave a Reply

