Book Review: The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief is a very famous book so I decided, “meh, it won’t scar me.” But I was wrong. It gave me a scar. 

I find it very interesting and it was kind of difficult for me to read because of the German terms, but it was different of me to read it because the time setting was set back to the 1940’s, the time of the Nazis.

I also find it unique because of Zusak’s choice of narrator. Like, when I started reading it, I was like, “who’s telling the story?” I figured it out about halfway of the book. I’ll tell you this, Zusak’s a genius.

SPOILER ALERT!

Why did it scar me? Well, it was very heartbreaking – for me. You would know why. I just ship Liesel and Rudy so hard and when I read about the bombing I was just crying, especially when Liesel came back and she was clutching Rudy and telling him the things she can’t say, like, it just broke my heart, so now, I have another bead for my necklace of broken hearts. Another part was at the first part. It truly broke my heart because she literally watched her brother die.

If I would have a favorite character in the story, it would be Rosa, Rudy, and Max. I know, Rosa? Okay, so, Rosa was a harsh mother, but that was what people understood her. If you would dig deeper and get to know her more, she’s actually soft-hearted, and she has a tough outside because that’s what she want people to see. Rudy because he’s such a sweetheart, really. I love how he asks for a kiss from Liesel every time. I just find it so cute. What struck me was how he fell in love with Liesel after years. But then, bombs happen. God, I was just so frustrated at the bombings. And I love his passion of Jesse Owens. And the way he gave up his last race because he just doesn’t need it. I can’t believe I’m saying this but, I want a guy like that. Really. Okay, next is Max. Max is one of my favorite characters because… I don’t know… I can’t explain it… It’s the way he thinks about Liesel. The way he looks at Liesel at the parade. The way he asks for Liesel at the shop. I don’t know, I just like him. Like, he’s the kind of person wherein he’s likable. I just really can’t explain it.

In my perspective, it’s like Zusak is talking about life. Life generally, and life in Hitler’s time. For example, Rudy’s “fear” of kissing the book thief, the way Liesel picks up random presents for Max. The way Zusak compares the accordion to a human. It’s just, everything, really. The book was really inspiring and well written. It just made me go, “wow, I can’t wait for the movie.”

Whoops. Yup, there’s gonna be a movie of it. I don”t know when it will show, but I’m eager to see it. And Liesel And Rudy. *heart heart*

I would recommend this book to ages 13 and above due to the inappropriate language and an inappropriate scene. Yes, it has an inappropriate scene, but don’t worry, it’s just like, a page or two. It was quite funny actually.

So, yeah. All I can say is that The Book Thief is a must-have and a must-read book. I hope you guys take time reading this amazing book, and watch the movie. 🙂

The only thing worse than a boy who hates you: a boy that loves you. -Markus Zusak

Happy New Year! 🙂
Leave a Reply

