Movie Review: Catching Fire

Catching Fire

You all know about Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark, the star-crossed lovers of District 12. You all know that Catching Fire is the second book and movie of the Hunger Games Trilogy. Some of you have watched it, some of you have not. Here’s what I think of the movie: extraordinary.

If you would compare the movie to the book, it’s very similar, yet different. A lot has improved in this movie like the technology, their clothes, their hair, and others. What really caught my attention is the arena. I didn’t really understand how the obstacles were made in the book, but I soon put it all together when Wiress, a tribute and Katniss’ ally, repetitively stated the hint of the arena. When Wiress in the movie started to say “tick tock,” I immediately realized that the arena they made was really like a clock. It was an amazing arena and it really looked like a clock.

I really loved the technology in the movie because it’s very high-tech. For example, their training room. When Katniss entered the room for her training, the dummies used were like holograms, and their bodies were made out of holographic cubes. Another example are the cameras used to be seen for Caesar Flickerman.

My friend and I were actually crying in some scenes, especially when Katniss was about to enter the arena. It just broke my heart to see Cinna being beat up. We were just gripping each other’s hands and crying because it really hurt to watch the scene.

If you would compare Catching Fire to The Hunger Games, The Hunger Games is very serious while Catching Fire is very funny. Don’t ever, ever miss the elevator scene of Haymitch, Katniss, Peeta and Johanna, when Effie wanted to give Haymitch and Peeta something gold, when Johanna screamed in the arena which was directed to President Snow, and many more.

I would really recommend the movie people 13 years old and above due to the gore of the movie. In my opinion, if you haven’t watched The Hunger Games, watch it first before Catching Fire so you would understand it. And I would really, really recommend reading the book first before watching the movies.

In my perspective, I really loved the movie and I just can’t wait for Mockingjay part 1, but at the same time, I can’t handle watching it because of the people who died. It just broke my heart.

I hope you guys would consider watching this movie. It’s really worth the wait.

Remember who the real enemy is. -Suzanne Collins

Leave a Reply

